Home Contact

National Coal Transportation Association

Scholarship Programs

One of the primary objectives of NCTA as an organization is to provide education to its members. NCTA is proud to be able to fund a scholarship program with the goal of providing educational benefit for the future of the coal and transportation industry as well as giving back to the membership through four annual scholarship awards of $1,500 each.

Member’s Children Scholarship

NCTA awards three non-renewable, one year college scholarships and one, one year, vocational or associate degree program annual basis to dependent sons and daughters of full time employees of NCTA member companies in good standing; Member’s Children Scholarships. Please visit the, “details” section of the website for eligibility requirements. Applicants are asked to complete NCTA’s scholarship application that is available through NCTA’s website. Semi-finalists are selected primarily on the basis of academic merit by the NCTA’s Education Committee. Consideration is also given to students with a stated interest in a career in the coal, electric utility or transportation industries as reflected by the NCTA field of membership. The final award selections are made by the NCTA Education Committee and are featured in the official publication of NCTA, the Coal Transporter magazine.

David L. Laffere Memorial Scholarship

At present, all four scholarships that are awarded by the NCTA are funded yearly out of the general operating budget. In 2009, NCTA established a scholarship in memory of our dear friend and colleague, David L. Laffere. David was manager for fuels for Kansas City Power and Light Company and was also one of NCTA’s Board of Directors who died tragically in a car accident on June 2, 2009. David was a truly special person who gave generously of his time and energy to this organization and we wish to honor his memory with an educational award to continue into the future.

Full endowment of the David Laffere Memorial scholarship has not yet been achieved. However, the Education Committee of the NCTA has named one the Member’s Children Scholarships, the David Laffere Memorial Scholarship and is continuing to accept donations for full endowment.

“The best thing about this job is the relationships I’ve developed with people in all industries related to coal production.” – David L. Laffere

NCTA Education Committee

The NCTA Education Committee consists of Education Committee Chairman, Jared Wicklund of Empire District and NCTA Board member, Sharon Robinson from Blackhawk Mining.  Jared and Sharon are dedicated to serving the objective of the scholarship program and are always looking for ways to make the Education Committee responsive to the future of the coal transportation industry and to serve the NCTA’s membership.

Download the 2018 College Scholarship Application Download the 2018 Vocational Scholarship Application